I think I am getting out of Tutorial Hell

And JavaScript is the reason

Hello!

It has been a while since I've last posted, on July 8th. Life's caught up, and because my college's calendar is a mess right now, I has my finals and a lot of assignments due. Since then, I have also began my vacations (which are actually almost over), and gotten involved into more college projects.

I wanted to catch up with the blog, however. I'm proud that I have been using my "free" work time to study a lot of JavaScript. Because of personal reasons (mostly a trip), I have been working 3 more hours per day (making it a 9 hours) so I can take some days off. However, because my company usually doesn't have that many frontend bugs nor new things to implement often. Neither do I have to attend to daily meetings

Because of this, I have been using my work shift to study JavaScript! I have focused on a pretty good Udemy Course: Curso de JavaScript e TypeScript do básico ao avançado 2022 . This one is a famous brazilian JavaScript Course that teaches basic JS (which I used to revise common mistakes I make), NodeJS, ReactJS and TypeScript. I was gifted this course by the perfect Evelyn Fernandes, my awesome partner as (one of) our 2 years anniversary gift.

2575266_c184_4.jpg

I have been focused since then in this awesome material! Last week, I finished the basic JS + ES6 + Object-Oriented Programming part of this course. On Friday, I finally began the NodeJS modules! It's strange to actually study NodeJS since I have been always kind of avoiding it because I thought it would be hard, except for a small project of a Twitter Bot I made on February.

image.png

Turns out, it isn't that hard! It has, of course, it's oddities (since it's JavaScript), but I can pretty much understand most of the concepts from what I studied of PHP (not much, but I do plan on going back to it). I have many projects I think I will be able to finally tackle by learning a little bit of Backend development. Although it is not my main focus, I know I need to understand more of it in order to be the developer I want to be.

Although I am using a course (therefore, a tutorial), I am pretty happy with what I have accomplished so far in terms of understanding concepts and evolution of my own mindset. I still need to create a real project (which I might do within this next month), and I am sure I will find many hardships in it, as simple as it might be (I am thinking about simple books or games related CRUD projects because that's about what I know for now).

I am excited to see what I will learn in the future! I also expect to dive deeper into frontend development next!


Thank you for reading! I hope I can keep myself accountable and stop neglecting this small blogging project.

See ya!